Thorp Air Command - T18.net

Supporting Owners, Builders and Pilots of the Thorp T-18 and its variants.
It is currently Thu May 02, 2024 4:48 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

Beans
PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:00 am 

Howdy Thorp Folks!

I'm new to the Thorp Forum (and to homebuilding) but I've been lurking on this site, and on anything T-18, for years. It goes without saying that the T-18 is such a great homebuilt design...that's why you all are still flying them over 40 years later!

Anyhow, I found a 35+ year old project and I'm wondering if it's worth pursuing. The owner lost his medical and wishes to sell the project as a result. About 95% of the metalwork is done (I know, and 95% left..), it's on gear, has some instruments, and has the engine and canopy installed. The metal is covered in zinc chromate in and out (not painted), and has been in a garage since day one. The engine was rebuilt in 1973, but the builder does not have the engine log nor does he know how many hours were on it when purchased. It's an O-290 D2 that came out of a Piper.

There is no builder's log. Having reviewed what's required by the FAA when purchasing a project from another builder, not having a builder's log looks like it could be a problem. What does one do in a situation like this?

While the motor has been pulled through a few times per year I have no idea what has been going on inside that engine for the last 40+ years, but maybe it would be usable. I'm sure the hoses and anything rubber would require replacement...another rebuild would be a strong possibility (at a minimum).